Introduction to the 7 Chakras

If there is one nation that is popular for possessing high spiritual abilities on earth, it has to be India. One of the most popular techniques of transforming the mind, meditation, was invented in ancient India around the 6th BCE. If you thought meditation is the only art of spiritual communication that was birthed in India, consider yourself wrong. India is also home to the 7 Chakras. Never heard of them before? Or are you partially informed about them? This post will give you a very good basic understanding of what you need to know about the Chakra system.

What is Chakra?

In the Hinduism, Jainism, and Buddhism classical language known as Sanskrit, the term Chakra refers to a node or point in the subtle human body. Subtle is an important word because a chakra does not exist in the physical body. Rather, it is a meeting point in a complex part of the body, beyond the physical, where energy levels known as Nadi meet. At these points, vital energy and life forces move. According to the Hindu religions that practice Chakra, there are many Chakras in the body. However, there are 7 Chakras that are very important.

It is believed that the Chakra system began within the Tantric tradition in the second half of the first millennium. It was introduced to the west by Englishman Arthur Avalon when he published his book titled The Serpent Power in 1919.

What Are The 7 Chakras?

The seven main Chakras are energy wheels found in every human. They are placed along the spine, running from the lowest end of the spine to the top of the head. The Chakras are visualized as swirling energy wheels in the spots where consciousness meets matter. The energy is known as Prana and is necessary as a vital force because it supports human vibrancy, health, and life.

Each of the Chakras contains major body organs, nerve endings and the spiritual, emotional and psychological states of being. As indicated earlier, these energy wheels are constantly moving, and need to keep moving. If any of them stops due to a particular reason, it affects the other six because an imbalance occurs. For instance, if you think too much, you fall into depression. This may affect a Chakra in the head area. When this happens, headaches or any other physical body illnesses might occur. However, if you can access your subtle side, you can communicate with the affected Chakra that will get rid of the depression. This will in turn stabilize all the Chakras and cure the physical illness.

The seven Chakras, in order from the first to the seventh, are Muladhara, Svadhisthana, Manipura, Anahata, Vishuddha, Ajna, and Sahaswara. The first three are collectively known as the Chakras of matter while the other four are called the Chakras of spirit. The Chakras of matter are the first three from the base of the spine and are more physical than they are spiritual or psychological. The fourth Chakra (Vishuddha) acts as the midpoint between the spirit and matter Chakras.

The 7 Chakras Explained

Muladhara (The Base/Root Chakra)

It is located between the anus and the genitals and is also known as the root Chakra or the place of beginnings and potentiality. It is associated with basic rootedness, foundation, security, and the earth.

Svadhisthana (The Sacral Chakra)

This Chakra is found in the groin. It is associated with creativity, romantic and non-romantic relationships, and sexuality. In some instances, it can be compared to the Yin and Yang (masculine and feminine) Chinese symbols that come together to form a single unit.

Manipura (The Solar Plexus Chakra)

The third Chakra is found in the stomach area in the upper abdomen. It is also known as the will center. This point controls the ability of a person to manage their lives, be confident, have self-esteem and realize their self-worth.

Anahata (The Heart Chakra)

The fourth energy is found at the heart and is mainly associated with love. In some Chakra systems, the heart is split into two sides: the right and the left. The left side is associated with femininity (unconditional self-love), and the right is associated with masculinity (unconditional love for everyone).

Vishuddha (The Throat Chakra)

The fifth energy node is located at the throat and is associated with the voice and communication. At this point, various kinds of communication occur, such as overall expression, concepts, ideas and one’s speaking of their personal truth.

Ajna (The Third Eye Chakra)

The second-last Chakra is located at the forehead between the eyes. It is also called the Brow Chakra. It is associated with time and sight. In most cases, different psychic abilities are related to it.

Sahaswara (The Crown Chakra)

This final Chakra is found at the crown of the head. It is associated with the connection to consciousness, God, Spirit and for some heaven.

The Chakra Chart

The Chakra chart is simply a table that summarizes the 7 Chakras. It lists them, the places they are located, the colors they are associated with, their psychological functions, the emotions they are connected to, the glands at their location, their related body parts, and the physical dysfunctions that they correct. You can use the chart to tell which Chakra is blocked or is malfunctioning so that you channel energy towards it for normalcy to resume.

For example, if you experience frequent constipation, it might be an indicator of a blocked Muladhara (1st Chakra). Recurring headaches might point to a blocked Ajna (the 6th Chakra).

When you understand problems and their associated Chakras, you can channel energy towards them and reinstate the lost equilibrium. This way, you become whole again without any medical assistance.

As mentioned before, if you can identify the 7 Chakras accurately, you can tap into your life energies. As a result, you can control everything about your body and live life to the fullest. Make use of the Chakra chart for easy reference.

How to Activate Your Seven Chakras

If your Chakras are unbalanced, peace with self is impossible to achieve. Most people have some overactive chakras and some under active ones. You can stimulate all 7 Chakras in different ways. You can try calm-abiding meditation, visualization techniques, or meditative equipoise. Calm-abiding meditation is a form of meditation that helps you to calm your body and mind to develop awareness. Visualization means using your imagination to create visions of what you want in your life and how to achieve it.

Meditative equipoise is a focused state of mind attained through different techniques of meditation like vipashyana and shamatha. These three techniques will help you to heal yourself physically, emotionally, and spiritually.

In today’s world, doctors associate most illnesses with issues such as stress and fatigue. If you employ this powerful art, you will achieve vibrancy and overall good health. Not only will you avoid costly trips to the doctor, you will live a fulfilling life.

Love the show? Subscribe, rate, review, and share!
Join the Relationships Done Different Community today:

Author: Esateys Stuchiner

Esateys (pronounced Ee sáh teez) is an International Life Transformational Speaker, Author, Master Facilitator, Life Coach and Expert in the Human condition. She is a Nationally and Board Certified Nurse Practitioner. For over 30 years, she has practiced, taught and lectured extensively in the allopathic and alternative medicine field.

Esateys is known for her groundbreaking work in the areas of personal empowerment and health restoration using mindset and inner connection as the catalyst for all change.

Esateys describes herself as the ‘Architect of the New You’ and has dedicated her life and professional career to helping her clients create “New Beginnings” by facilitating self empowerment, economic freedom and restored health.

For more information, go to

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This